1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fretted v. fretless for a beginner

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by M_J_P, Mar 28, 2009.

1. M_J_P

M_J_P

Mar 27, 2009
    I am just starting out with bass and lookng to buy my first. While I have been surfing around I have found various fretted and fretless basses. As a complete noob to bass what would be the best to go for, fretless or fretted?

I've looked at some youtube videos of fretless basses and I love the sound you can get from them, but would it be more sensible to go for a fretted base first and then switch later?

2. Nedmundo

Nedmundo Supporting Member

Jan 7, 2005
    Philadelphia
    In my view, you should decide based on the music you want to play, and the sounds you want. If you really dig fretless tone and it would fit your style, then go for it. Sure, fretted is a little easier, but plenty of kids start out on violin, cello, etc., so I really don't think it matters.

3. ghostjs

ghostjs

Aug 14, 2008
    ghostjs
    Unofficially Endorsing: D'Addario, Lakland
    well i guess i'd go for fretted. its good to learn all the basics before going for a fretless

4. HogieWan

HogieWan

Feb 4, 2008
    Lafayette, LA
    a fretless probably limits what you can play. Not that rules can't be broken, but a lot of music just sounds better on a fretted bass.

Make sure you try both in a local store. Pick up a lined fretless (so you know where to put your fingers) and see if you dig the feel of it. Whether you buy a lined or unlined is up to you, but I think you should use the lines to see if you want to go that route

5. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis