1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fretting Hand(Left),and wrist pain.Please Help!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Bayonet, May 10, 2011.

1. Bayonet

Bayonet

May 10, 2011
    I've bought my bass a week ago,my first bass and first stringed instrument.. so i'm kinda new to all this,but one of my friends plays bass since a few years ago and he taught me the positioning of the hand and other stuff,but i've been feeling some pains at these locations of my hands :S

Hand Pain Places

Bass height and Position

Since i can't reach him,and i'm not worried enough to see a doctor,does anyone knows,or has experienced this?
    Any advice would be nice,thank you =)

2. Fergie Fulton

Fergie Fulton

Nov 22, 2008
    Braintree
    Retrovibe Artist rota
    The area you highlight is a potential tension area, ease up on the pressure you use and do some open hand stretches before and after playing. Just open and spread your finger fully and hold for 10 seconds then relax, give them a gentle shake and repeat as neccesary. On the tension point of playing it should feel as if your thumb should brush the neck when moving along it or just with enough pressure that if at any point you can lift it away while playing...so that mean light and gentle with the way you play the neck, that is play the neck not hold the neck.

Check out that plucking hand wrist, it could do with being straighter, thats quite an angle to maintain for a new player.

3. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    OP, perhaps you could experiment with wearing the bass a bit lower. This would help with straightening out the plucking hand wrist. Check out this R/H technique ( Fergie's advice should go a long way to solving the L/H problem).

YouTube - Todd Johnson Bass Guitar : Floating thumb technique

4. kr0n

kr0n

Feb 4, 2009