1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fretting technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by theben, May 1, 2010.

1. theben

theben

May 1, 2010
    Just had a quick scan... not really found any other threads mentioning this so here goes...

I've been playing for maybe 8 years or so. Consider myself average to good... can get some alright speed moving around the fretboard but there's a few habits that I've always had that I've never seemed to be able to knock in the head and I'm worried its stopping me progressing any further.

Firstly, I'm not fretting with my little finger. I get away with it a lot of the time but occasionally I'll find something that requires a bit more reach so I'm moving around more than I should and tiring myself out quickly when I could save a lot more energy if I could use my little finger. Just can't seem to get the dexterity in my little finger to coordinate it towards fretting anything... and it kinda hurts when I do try.

Also I'm not sure if my thumb placement is right... which might explain why my little finger is pretty useless. I had lessons for the first year or so and my tutor told me that when fretting the thumb should be in line with your index finger but I think this is the reason my little finger seems to be curling under, making it near impossible to use, despite my lack of strength and dexterity in that finger anyway. I recently talked to a friend of mine who is a session bassist and he said he plays with his thumb parallel to the neck of the bass and it gives him better reach, which made me wonder if the placement of my thumb is a little off.