Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

friends before bandmates? or visa versa

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by fenderx55, Aug 21, 2005.

1. fenderx55

fenderx55

Jan 15, 2005
    NYC/Queens
    This is gonna be long:

About 3 years ago or so i was a pretty crappy guitarist but i played saxophone rather decently and knew a bunch of people in band class but i didn't have alot (any) friends. These guys in band (drummer and sax/guitarist) had a jam-group; you know, they got together, ate chips and played some metallica...poorly. They needed a bassist, and I was willing to switch. Frankly low notes always appealed to me (i switched from Alto to tenor sax for this reason) so i've spent the last three years loving the bass and being really good friends with these guys.

initially, that is, from 8th grade to 10th grade, i hated these guys by association; their friends made my life not easy. But i got to figure out they were ok. But you know how over time you get sick of people and you kind of realize what people are really like and you're tired of dealing with it? I'm there. While we used to take the piss out of each other, it feels mean now. I think we have different philosophies on stage (i don't mind being ironic and humble...i wanna cover rap songs in an ironic manner, the drummer insists on having a mic so he can say, "i'm tired" or "i'm sweaty" then sending me jabs for plugging our upcoming show). They think that they're Bon Jovi and can be prima donnas, they think the show is all for them, without thanking the band that put us on the bill and not staying around for the other band(s). the other bands are ppl i know so i stay.