From India - A bass players thoughts

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by kaushik23kumar, Aug 6, 2016.

1. Hello!

A little about me; I'm a Bass player from Bangalore, India, and I've been playing the bass for close to 10 years now. I'm self taught for most part, and have picked up quite a bit through lessons from colleagues and friends in the gigging biz... Just for the sake of authenticity (which I know you guys highly price), I'm attaching a few of the videos and my band page. (please ignore the latest news, we haven't updated in a while):

Mad Orange Fireworks

For starters, I've just managed to create my profile on here after two years of trying!.. Stoked that i'm finally part of the talkbass family. I've been following forums and people on here for ages! OVNILAB, bongomania, JimmyM; you guys don't know what a massive influence you've had on my tone and playing, and the way its evolved. Thank you!!

Part of the reason i'm writing this long introduction is because of the gigging scene here in India. For most part, it's Film music that rules the roost in most parts of India (Bollywood, Kollywood, Mollywood, Sandalwood, and the list goes on); but the Independent music here (Regional, folk and western) have gotten the short end of the stick for ages. This leaves a lot of the grassroots musicians with a conundrum - do we go for the more tried and tested route of joining the Film bandwagon, or do we strike out on our own, trying to make a name for ourselves? I've been on both sides of the spectrum, and I've seen a problem that plagues us regardless.