1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

From the dark side, i know another newb which bass thread

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by FREAKYSTLYEY, Aug 28, 2012.

1. FREAKYSTLYEY

FREAKYSTLYEY Banned

Jan 14, 2007
    So I have been playing electric bass for the last 10 years and for the last 5 have really wanted to buy a 3/4 upright bass. I read the stickies and basically was told I'd have to spend a bare minimum of 1500$..

Are there any other options for much cheaper? Look I can drop 1500-2000$ on a bass I'd I decide UB. Is for me. But starting off I can't. I'm located in baton rouge. Really wouldn't like to rent one but I suppose I could.

But are there no inexpensive decent UBs for 4-700$? I understand you get what you pay for. I'm a newb and Until I develop a taste I honestly don't think I could tell the difference between at 15k bass and a 500$ bass..

Help?

2. FREAKYSTLYEY

FREAKYSTLYEY Banned

Jan 14, 2007
    Well I found a shop in new Orleans that rents basses and will probably go this route after hurricane passes.

3. Etienned

Etienned

Jul 16, 2010
    Montréal
    Being a DB newb, I could totally tell the difference between a 1000$ and 2000 $ bass. I would suggest you to either save some more or make sure you can afford a luthier setup (I'm not talking about a technician from the store setup unless it happens to be a genuine luthier). The setup changed everything for the best on my DB. Of course it was expensive compared to an electric bass setup but really worth it.

4. Can you tell the difference between a $100 and a $500 EB? You can.

Well, a $500 DB is more like a $25 EB. Unfortunately. You can't build one that cheaply and get it close enough to right to be a) structurally sound and b) playable.