Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

FUNK bass questions

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Nirvana4ever, Aug 25, 2005.

1. Nirvana4ever

Nirvana4ever

Aug 2, 2005
    I just got a wah pedal, and I am interested in learning to play funk. I have some problems though. I have only been playing for a little over a year and a half, and I am not that good at slap. I also have a hard time thinking of bass lines, and it is probably harder with funk. Can anyone help with a way to play funk, write it, and have fun with it? Thanks.

2. bassksun

bassksun Supporting Member

Mar 5, 2004
    Las Vegas,NV
    Start off simple...
    Listen to:
    Parliment/Funkadelic
    Bootsy
    Brothers Johnson
    Commodores
    James Brown
    Prince

You can get tabs or sheet music for these players. Remember, "Everything is on the one." ;)

Peace

3. Learn how to do it fingerstyle without the wah before you get complicated. Funk isn't all slap or wah.

4. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    SIMPLE?!?

5. hateater

hateater snatch canadian cream

May 4, 2001
    Eugene, OR
    It will be hard, but put the wah to the side for now. Learn how to get funky with James Brown recordings. That is probably the simplist (and funkiest) think you can do at your skill level. After that, I suggest learning how to play like Rocco Prestia from Tower of Power. To me, playing 16ths with mutes during times you dont play sounds funkier than s***. Next, learn to slap along with a funk book. It might not be as fun as learning school days, but there are plenty of funk slap books out there. A really good bassist to check out in the ways of slap could be Stu Zender... dude is sick. From there, you should be set to take on the task of developing a style unique and funky and ALL YOUR OWN!