1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

funk, groovy music must effects

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Macher, Aug 15, 2007.

1. Macher

Macher

Aug 29, 2006
    Montreal
    I am fairly new to effects and want to work more with them. Mainly for my lounge band, my funk jams and anything that's groovy. The funk sounds of RHCP, Jamiroquai, Plaster, etc... I use a custom made bass, a MESA MPULSE 360, and have only one pedal; the EH Bass Micro Synthesiser.

I don't know where to start! Distorsion? Overdrive? Phaser? Wah? auto wah? Chorus? Mutron? Qtron?

What would be a complement to my Bass Synth? What's a must?

Thanks!

2. QTron+

3. Maybe something fuzzy would go well with your synth?

4. sublime0bass

sublime0bass

Aug 2, 2007
    Boone, NC
    why qtron and not another fuzz envelope. just because of the sound, a lot of options...or what

5. vtwo

vtwo

Dec 16, 2006
    Connecticut
    fuzz envelope :confused:....

get a fuzz, envelope filter, wah, then phaser - in that order.

6. I would have thought you might want something significantly different to the BMMS. Since it deals pretty well with square wave fuzz, envelope filter, octave etc etc

A foot wah always goes nicely with the BMMS. You add an extra dimension by putting a wah after the BMMS that allows some really, really cool sounds - especially when combined with the BMMS square wave fuzz!

But, a good chorus can also make the sound of the BMMS come alive - I would perhaps recommend you look for a "detune" type chorus.

7. markjazzbassist

markjazzbassist Supporting Member

Apr 19, 2005
    Cleveland, OH
    envelope filter, fuzz/distortion pedal, and a phaser.

8. Sir Edward V

Sir Edward V Not Actually Knighted... Yet!

Dec 11, 2006
    Massachusetts
    +1