1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Funk

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by rockr4Christ, Aug 6, 2007.

1. rockr4Christ

rockr4Christ

Oct 30, 2006
    Hong Kong
    Hey guys, I have been playing bass for a few years now, mainly playing jazz and rock, but would love to get more into funk...
    any good sites or books out there to move me along (looking for more theory kind of stuff...construction of funk lines, tones, stuff like that)

2. sit down and learn some tower of power by ear...not exactly what you asked for, but learning some funk lines created by a great bassist will help you out a lot when it comes time to make your own.

3. louieeadg

louieeadg uncle petey?

Jun 13, 2007
    outer banks, nc
    Maaan...there ain't no theory about funk. You gosta feel tha funk. You gotta play it like you're a 5 yr old and its Christmas Morning, there's a mountain of presents stacked as high as the tree but your parents want you to open one present at a time and you have 6 other siblings. THAT'S funk.

Oh, and go to the Funk 101 thread. That's all the education you need...

4. DocBop

DocBop

Feb 22, 2007
    Los Angeles, CA
    Listen and listen and listen some more. Then start working on The Payback by James Brown. The main lines is only two notes. If you can't make two notes funky and groove it ain't going to happen with more.

5. Funk is more in the feel than anything else. The notes patterns, etc, take a backseat to the feel.

6. hunta

hunta

Dec 2, 2004
    Washington, DC
    I've found Anthony Vitti's Finger Funk Workbooks to be pretty good for "getting a feel" for funk. That's just written out bass lines with a CD of recordings.