Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Funky Strings

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Drake, Dec 13, 2000.

1. I am a funk bassist of 6 months, and sadly I know not a lot about string selection. Frankly I have never really done string shopping, I have only replaced them one other time.

Now I need new ones that suit my funky needs. That includes jazzy funk and P-funk styles, mostly fingerstyle and a bit of slapping. I have an Ibanez sr400 with actives and the 3 band eq onboard.

Can I get some recomendations, and why they are funky?

That would be highly appreciated.

I like things that are between bootzilla and Verdine White.

Thanks

Drake
    PS-I like envelope filters and love my bassballs.

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Well to me - whether a bass line is funky is to do with the player and their timimg and syncopation and nothing at all to do with what strings they are using. I've heard really funky bassists with completely dead strings - no treble whatsoever, and others with very bright metallic strings. It's how you play them that makes it funky or not.

3. Either way I am new at bass, and I am in the process of learning how to play as a funk bassist. I have been working on funk for the last 4 months maybe more. I will admit that I have poor timing and that is the area I need to work on most, but either way I have no experience with strings, and no time or money to try all of them so some leads in a funky direction, even just to get me started, would be appreciated.

Thanks

Drake

4. Bruce Lindfield

Well if you're going for the classic slap/pop sound of 70s/80s funk, then you really need roundwound strings - anything else just won't get that bright and sharp "pop" from the G string.