Funky walking bassline patterns?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by mmmmmmmmm, Nov 28, 2017.

1. mmmmmmmmm

mmmmmmmmm

Nov 27, 2017
    green bay
    I've been playing electric for about 1 1/2 years now (coming from upright), and I've only learned an "arpeggio-y" pattern (1, 3, 5, 7, 9 in any given chord/key) in terms of walking lines. As I've expanded the genres I play in, that one simple bassline doesn't seem to fit everything. I was wondering if you guys could give me some other patterns I could follow, or some tips to developing my own. Thanks!!

2. Since you've been working on arpeggios, I will give you a fairly easy, step by step technique that you can add to that. This is about using the scale tones and chromatic approaches. A lot of people will tell you to use chromatic passing tones, etc, but they almost never give you a method to approach that problem.

It's long, so you might wanna print it out and look it over to see if it's something you are interested in...

Anyway. This method uses Ascending Linear and Descending Linear basslines. The main thing you need to know is whether the chords in the song are major or minor. THEN you need to figure out the first three notes of the SCALE that defines the chord. These three notes, plus a passing tone are all you will need to write out for each measure of the song. Since walking lines operate in quarter note pulses, you only need four notes per measure.

For example, Take the chord progression CM7, E flat 7, Dm7, and G7

In order, these chords are: major, major, minor, major.
    So for the CM7 chord, write out the first 3 notes of a C major scale:
    C-D-E
    For the E flat 7 write out the first 3 notes of the E flat Major scale:
    E flat-F- G
    For the Dm7 write out the first 3 notes of a D minor scale
    D-E-F
    For the G7, write out the first 3 notes of a G major scale
    G-A-B