1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Funny "buff guys play bass" story...

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by kesslari, May 7, 2010.

1. kesslari

kesslari Groovin' with the Big Dogs Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2007
    Santa Cruz Mtns, California
    Lark in the Morning Instructional Videos; Audix Microphones
    Back in the day (late 1980'1) I used to hit the weights pretty hard, and was significantly bigger than I am now. Not huge, but bigger. I was living in Venice CA and training at Gold's Gym (it was a few blocks from my house) - THE Gold's Gym, where all the bigtime pro bodybuilders trained.

When I graduated Musician's Institute I stayed in LA, had a gig teaching there for the summer session, and was gigging with some of the instructors. For the opening night of every semester they would do a faculty concert to really wow the students. I was on the gig playing fusion with this really amazing guitarist from Hawaii, Wes Matsuda, with Gary Garbatini on drums. Anyway, Wes was a tiny cat - 5'1", and probably 100 lbs soaking wet. So next to him I must have looked pretty big (at 5'11''), especially to someone looking up at a 4 foot high stage at from the audience. We do the concert, and it goes really well.

Next day I'm at the gym, and this freaking enormous guy comes up to me. Huge as in he literally played Conan at Universal Studios tour. He looks at me and says "um... did you play a concert at Musician's Institute last night?" I say yeah, and he says the usual about great show, etc... then he says "you look, um, different"... I ask what he means, and he hems and haws, doesn't really want to say. I push, because I'm curious.
    Finally he says, "man, last night I thought you were HUGE, I thought Jesus Christ, Lou Ferrigno has a brother who plays bass..."