1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

funny?

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by bassfacekevin, Apr 18, 2006.

1. Mods, I'm not exactly sure where this is, or anything, so please move it as needed. Basically, I have been playing bass for about 2-3 years now, and I have absolutely fallen in love. I recently dropped out of a major university and have gone to a community college to study and try and see if I can't get my theory on par with my technical ability.
    Well, I have found that having absolutely no musical background is rather detrimental to my ability to do this, as I didn't know what any keys and scales were, let alone relative minors, chord subs and anything else were. I have been catching up recently, and I feel like I'm making fairly good (albiet very slow progress, as my brain seems to be fighting me on theory every step of the way)
    So, today, my prof. calls me into his office today, and looks me straight in the eyes and tells me that, "I understand that you enjoy music, and that it's something that you really like to do, but you're not at the same level as your peers, and you aren't making very much improvement. (I could study more, but I feel pretty good about my what I know/how long I've been studying ratio) Basically, I don't believe that you're going to make it as a musician. Do you have any other plans?"