fuses keep blowing in guitar player's Marshall JCM 900.... any ideas?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ::::BASSIST::::, Mar 15, 2006.

1. ::::BASSIST::::

::::BASSIST:::: Progress Not Perfection.

Sep 2, 2004
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    my guitarist's amp has had the same fuse, no problem, for 13 years. then it blew. he put another one in. 20 min later it blows.

he has an older Marshall JCM 900 tube amp... sounds great.

could it be that one of his tubes is malfunctioning in some way causing the fuse to blow?

any ideas?
  2. It could be a lot of things. Take it to a qualified technician. Obviously something else is wrong which is causing the fuse to blow.
  3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    I heard that with older Marshalls: blowing fuses = bad tubes.
    Don't know if that applies to the new models too.
  4. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Moved to amps.
  5. I'm not an amp expert, but it seems to me if he's one of those "it goes to 11! so i beter put it there!" type people, he could just need to turn down the volume. but i dont know much so please dont flame me
  6. Passinwind

Passinwind I Know Nothing Supporting Member

The only user service possible for most people is to replace all the tubes. If there's a different problem, the amp could conceivably eat the new tubes, so it's a bit of a crapshoot. Those amps have a lot of solid state circuitry that could fail in various ways and blow fuses too though.

The key thing here is what NOT to do: put a bigger value fuse in there. I had a completely cooked but otherwise nice old Fender tube amp brought to me recently that would've been fine if the guy had just copped to getting the needed repairs rather than throwing a 20 amp fuse in a 6 amp slot.

Best of luck!
  7. nt40lanman

Jul 25, 2005
    It's likely a bad tube. Is it blowing one of the "tube fuses" or the main fuse?