1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Fwarg's Summer Build Thread

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Fwarginator, Apr 28, 2009.

1. So a friend of mine who owns a well equipped wood shop was looking for a summer project. We started talking and eventually decided that we would build a bass over the summer. I bought Martin Koch's book a couple months ago, read through it and then lent it to my friend to read. He told me to start planning the design and such so we can start as early as possible in the summer.

Anyway, my plans are as follows (these are subject to change, not set in stone yet:
    34" scale 5 string
    24 fret neck
    Alder body
    Quilt Maple top and headstock veneer
    Active electronics (specifics not yet decided)
    Black hardware

Anyway, I started playing with designs, mostly drawing them in various notebooks, and i finally came up with a design I liked. So I took it home and scanned it into the computer. Here is where I hit a problem, I tried to start doing the scale drawing, so I made three lines (one for the nut, one for the 12th fred, and one for the bridge), put them so they made a 1inch:2inch scale, so in this case it was 17 inches from the first line to the third. Then I took my scanned drawing and put it on that line template. I took some measurements and it showed that the body would be about 21.5 inches long (which sounded rather normal), but around 14.4 inches wide, which seemed to be an inch or two wider than normal. Would this cause any major problems in the building?

EDIT: Here is what I have thus far. I think the bridge may be fairly cramped the way I have this right now, so I may have to further lengthen the body somehow to get it to fit :meh: Anybody got a workaround?
    customscalework2.