Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

G-K heads

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Oreo, Feb 9, 2006.

1. Oreo

Oreo

Dec 26, 2005
    New York
    I've been looking for a good head to go along with my cab, I'm getting an Acme B2. I played through two of these at a show, and they supported my low sound very well. I need something that will really help with my low frequencies. It'd be used for small to medium venues for now, thenI plan on adding a second B2 in the future.

Which G-K head would work best? Help! :(

...It doesnt have to be a G-K head, it's just i've been pointed in that direction so far, other suggestions welcome.

2. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    I've been abusing GK gear for four years and it's held up to everything I've thrown at it. High volume metal gigs, low volume jazz, pit orchestras, you name it. I use a 400RB-III with PA support when needed.

Considering that with the exception of the 800RB, the preamps on the other three are identical. The 800RB has slightly different tone shaping abilities. The 800RB and 400RB-IV are the only two that don't offer GK's Horn Management System, for additional clarity. However, these can really only be utilized by GK cabinets, or others with modification.

The 400RB-IV is the bottom of the pro series line at 280W and runs full range (highs and lows are processed together) whereas the 700RB-II, 1001RB-II and 2001RB use biamping, with a 50W amp just for the highs. They have 480, 700 and 1080W respectively.

The 800RB is the classic 300W + 100W (for the highs) monster. The 300W woofer amp is capable of running at 4 ohms, whereas the 100W tweeter amp can only run at 8 ohms, you can power a wide array of cabs and get great tones from the 800RB.

From what you're looking at, I'd say the 700RB-II is right up your alley. Get your can over to Guitar Center and check it out!

3. THB_bassman