G&L ASAT tribute bass ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by stars, Feb 12, 2006.

1. stars

Feb 11, 2006
    I dont live in the states. getting G&L gear in my little corner of the world is a hugely expensive and pricey affair, so most people in my country , singapore , tend to look outwards for great gear.

i was mobbing ishibashi when i came across this.

its a G&L ASAT bass but with the designation TR-AB.

i asked the nice sales lady , Noriko , she told me it was a TRIBUTE series and a JAPAN made tribute series. the specs wise were identical to the American made ASAT and featured similar pups and bridges.

but more attempts to gather more information about this G&L TR-AB ASAT bass were an absolute zero. searched talkbass , HC and across google , turned up nothing.

heres the pictures,

dosent even say tribute on the headstock

just wanted to ask, did anybody have any experience with one of these ?
  2. IotaNet

IotaNet Supporting Member

I have zero experience with this bass but based on the size/shape, I would suggest that you strap it on and play it.

Tele-shaped basses like this are notorious neck-divers. Make sure this one's balance/weight are acceptable to you.
  3. phxlbrmpf

Dec 27, 2002
    That's one sexy bass! I thought the Tributes were Korean made, though.
  4. stars

Feb 11, 2006
    yea .. thats the entire issue ! no one seems to know about the ASAT tribute bass.

thanks for the tip. will keep that in mind before i buy it :D
  5. Nice man! Could you (or someone else with one) PLEASE put up some sounclips I could listen to? - I'm thinking about possibly getting one, but in order to try one out for myself I'd have to find a shop with one in stock, which (in England) is almost impossible...
  6. stars

Feb 11, 2006
    sorry man , dont have the bass yet .

maybe you could try looking under ASAT bass soundclips. they have the same bridge and pups as well.