1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

G&L L-2000 versus Rickenbacker 4003

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Medford Bassman, Apr 14, 2010.

1. Medford Bassman

Medford Bassman Supporting Member

Aug 8, 2007
    Medford, Wisconsin
    Okay...both look awesome to me. I want to buy them but can only afford one.

I need my fellow TBers help here. Please voice your opinions and/or experience. Thanks.

2. bassfart

bassfart

May 5, 2008
    I would go with the G&L. They are more versitile and are built like tanks.

3. warwick.hoy

warwick.hoy

Aug 20, 2006
    Spokane, WA.
    Beta Tester: Source Audio.
    More indie kids will want to have sex with you if you get the Ric.

4. TheBasicBassist

TheBasicBassist

Jan 8, 2009
    Newark, DE
    Endorsing Artist: Rosado Guitars
    G&L, I've had some awful experiences w/ Rickenbacker.

5. G&L hands down !! had both, ric was great but the l2000 just was better for me.

6. Aspidites

Aspidites

Oct 20, 2009
    Berkeley CA
    The G&L for the win, far better build quality and much more versatility.

Here's mine.:)
    P1000691.
    P1000699.

7. M0ses

M0ses

Sep 11, 2009
    Los Angeles
    If you really want the Ric sound, you have to go Ric. If you're just looking for a great bass, the G&L is a better deal and much less chance of getting a lemon.

8. I would personally go for a ric, the L2000 has far to many switches and knobs, and in my opinion doesnt sound as good as a ric.
    The ric is probably not as versatile, it has one sound but its a good sounding sound! The L2000 can do a lot but not that well IMO....

Keep in mind i dont have anything against G&L, my SB2 is one of my favorite basses, i just dont like the L2000!

9. I completely disagree about the "build quality" statement, but agree about the versatility.