Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

G&L L-2000: which neck option?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by fresnorich, Nov 21, 2003.

1. fresnorich

fresnorich

Sep 17, 2003
    Fresno, CA
    Ok, here's my dilema. I've narrowed my choice for my next bass down to either a MM Sterling or a G&L L-2000. My current bass is the Fender Sting bass. I love the neck on this bass (P-bass). I've also fallen in love with the Sterling neck; although it is not as wide as my P-bass, it feels great in my hand. I'm dying to get my hands on a G&L so that I can compare, but I'm having a hard time finding one here in the Central Valley (CA).
    I'm just a beginner, but I feel that I'm more of a P-bass kind of guy, rather than a Jazzer. I'm starting to look around on Ebay for a good deal and I've noticed that most L-2000's seem to have the slimmer neck option (Jazz). Is this really the more popular neck on this bass, or are the people with the wider neck L-2000's just hanging on to them? I know the Tributes are only offered with the wider neck. So which is better?

2. fresnorich

fresnorich

Sep 17, 2003
    Fresno, CA
    Here are the various neck options for the L-2000:

#5 7.5" radius 1 3/4 width at nut
    #6 7.5" radius 1.5 width at nut
    #7 12" radius 1 3/4 width at nut
    #8 12" radius 1/5 width at nut

So my next question is which is the better radius? I know my current (Sting) bass has the 7.5" radius, so should I just stick with that for consistancy, or is their an advantage to the flatter neck (12" radius)?

3. fresnorich

fresnorich

Sep 17, 2003
    Fresno, CA
    Whoops! "there" not "their". Sorry if I'm being anal, but I'm an (embarrassed)English teacher.

4. LarryJ

LarryJ banned

Dec 12, 1999
    Encino, CA (LA)
    Actually, I think that most L2K player's go with
    the standard #7 neck, rather than the slimmmer #8
    Jazz neck.