Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

G&L L-2500 v. L-5500

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Nick man, Mar 23, 2004.

1. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay
    Hey everyone!

I just posted this at the dudepit but Im sure you guys can give some additional insight.

I have a G&L L-2500 that Ive been playing for about 4 years and have loved the whole time.

Recently Ive gotten more into a nasly less bassy tone but as all of you know, the L-2000 and L-2500 are really strong bassy instruments by nature. It wouldnt be a problem that couldnt be fixed with my amps EQ but I usually find myself switching between a few basses per set and the hassle of mesing with the EQ between songs is too much to bear.

What Im wondering is if the EMG pickup/preamp combo gives the L-5500 a drastically different tone. One with a brighter trebble and maybe more high mids is what Im looking for.

I love the feel of my L-2500 so I want something similar if possible and I love the headstock of the L-5500 so I figure thats a good way to go. I was also offered one as a trade for my L-2500.

Peace
    Nick

PS: How do they compare price wise?

2. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    Yes, the L-5500 has a much smoother, more "refined" tone than a 2500. It plays like a G&L but doesn't sound at all like one because of the EMG electronics.

The 5500 usually sells for less than the 2500.

3. my 5500 sounds great! the 2500 definately has more options. there's only a pickup selector and bass and treble boost on mine. but with that said, every tone is useable from the 5500! Great bass for that price.... slightly cheaper than the 2500. You can ask the guy for a top up.. i think.. =)

4. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay
    Thanks for the replys!

Anyone else think they can give their input?

Peace
    Nick