G & L -L2500 or Stingray 5

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Rafterman, Jun 4, 2001.

1. what bass has a wider variety of tones and is overly versatile?

i'm thinking about these 2 basses...one of them will be my next bass.
  2. JimM

Jan 13, 2000
    Northern California
    My guess would be the one with two pickups(G&L),but I emphasize-my guess.since its been years since I've played either.

Bass NW has the G&Ls at about $900.00 right now,I'm tempted...
  3. Well, I'm not a huge expert on the Stingray 5, but I own an L2500. The thing has got so much versatility it's almost ridiculous. From everything I gathered before I made the purchase, the L2500 blows just about any other bass in its price range out of the water in terms of playability. However, a lot of people have said it doesn't have its own unique tone, which is one thing the Stingray has in its favor. So if you're buying based completely on versatility, check out an L2500. You won't be sorry.
  4. Nino Valenti

Nino Valenti Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 2, 2001
    Staten Island NYC
    Builder: Valenti Basses
    The L-2500 is much more versatile. It has a p/u switch, series/parrell switch & a pre-amp on/off w/a high boost. I had one & regretably sold it. I still have an L-2000 (4 string version) & it smokes. The pre-amp isn't working properly but passive alone it's still super versatile.

Music Man's are GREAT basses, too. I love everything about them except the sound. When ever I'd play one in a store, it sounded great. I owned a Sterling & a Ray & when I brought it to a band situation, I coun't get a sound I liked. So they had to go.

My vote is for the L-2500.
  5. seamus

Feb 8, 2001
    These are the two basses I am deciding between as well. I like both of them a lot, and the decision has come basically down to the Stingray 5 v. the L-2500.