SOLD G&L SB-1 fretless "franken-bass" with Andrew Drake neck!

Discussion in 'For Sale: Bass Guitars' started by marcwhy, Nov 19, 2017.

1. marcwhy

marcwhy

Apr 21, 2012
    Price:
    Strings:
    Fretless:
    • Y
    Reduced price: now only $675, shipped to the lower 48!! :thumbsup: Crazy good bass!

I bought this recently from a solid TB’er; I’m a guitarist trying to “fake” bass, and this looked pretty killer – and it is! Alas, though, I realized I needed to keep working on my bass-basics before venturing into fretless territory!

Here are details mostly copied from the original ad:

“This unique bass began its life as a USA-made G&L SB-1 (split P-bass style) from the 90’s. It has been modified to mimic Leland Sklar's famous double reverse P "Frankenbass." Originally, it was fretted and had a maple neck. Then, I sold the original maple neck and had Andrew Drake of Drake Custom Bass make me a fretless neck. I also modified the control cover in the center with some faux-maple contact paper.

Here are the specs. All work and modification expertly done by Andrew Drake, a master craftsman whose attention to detail is second to none.

- Maple body - natural flame to the wood. Originally sunburst, stripped and refinished in a transparent amber finish, which looks fantastic. The pickguard holes were plugged - you can see where they were, up close, but otherwise not really noticeable due to Andrew's fantastic attention to detail.

- Reverse P pickup routs placed directly above and below the original pickup rout. Active EMG pickups and EMG knobs were installed. Control plate made from plastic. Vol/Vol/Tone are the controls.