G&L SB-2 Hot Pickups

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by toddtodd, Apr 20, 2005.

1. i have a G&L 95 SB-2 p/j bass
    i mainly use the P pickup.
    why does this bass distort every (pre) amp i plug it into?
    i have lowered the pickup, i have lowered the magnets and it still distorts like no ones busniess.
    i play thru a GK 800rb, and sometimes a older (pre-gibson) Trace combo.
    also when we recorded i pluged it into a vintage SVT and DI into the board.
    both distorted so much i had to use the producers mid 70s pbass (poor me).
    so should i look into getting new pickups or whats the deal here?

2. canopener

Sep 15, 2003
    Isle of Lucy
    I'm by no means an expert, but can you use a low impedance input on any of your heads? Does your G&L have a series/parallel switch? If so, what are you using it in?

Again, I'm just trying to spark some discussion.
  3. the gk has a -16dB button at the imput, but that cuts volume ALOT.
    16 dB seems like alot..dont most amps have maybe -3dB input?
  4. Ben Clarke

Ben Clarke Liquidating to fund a new business. Buy My Gear!

Jan 6, 2005
    Western NY
    I've got an older SB-1 with an added DiMarzio J. The stock P is quite a bit hotter than the DM J. Try the pad. A 3dB pad wouldn't do a whole lot. Typically they're 10dB.

My old G&L is nearly as hot as my StingRay5, so try padding down the output.
  5. when i do that the amp does not really seem loud enought to keep up with the band
    2x12 at 200 watts 8ohms....
    am i retarded?
  6. Scottie Johnson

Scottie Johnson

Sep 8, 2004
    You might be playing to hard because you can't hear yourself well enough. 200 watts might not be enough in a band setting.

While recording, turn down the volume knob on your bass a bit and play lighter. Those G&L pickups are very hot.

I know that I had trouble with distorting my signal when I first got my ASAT. Adjusting you technique will help. If you play hard, take it down a notch