1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

G string too close to the edge of fingerboard.

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Felken, Apr 9, 2017.

1. Felken

Felken

Jun 28, 2016
    Ottawa, CAN
    Title sums it up. I'm a total noob when it comes to lutherie. I have no idea how to do this. I have no money to spare and cannot do anything big. The string keeps sliding off.

2. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2002
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Pics, please.

Riis

Jeff Scott likes this.
  3. MrLenny1

MrLenny1

Jan 17, 2009
    New England
    Just Goggle it.

4. T_Bone_TL

T_Bone_TL

Jan 10, 2013
    SW VT
    Step away from the stripper with your bass - OK, no, not that G-string.

Sounds like "new nut" time, at a rough guess before pictures. Unless it's falling off the bottom end only, in which case it might be more move the bridge time. But New Nut will be my position until I see pictures indicating otherwise.

Or you take the strings off and the nut turns out to be loose (and the E string is way in from the edge) in which case it might just need a dab of glue.

Last edited: Apr 9, 2017
  5. Felken

Felken

Jun 28, 2016
    Ottawa, CAN
    Pic for all yall. The bass is not even a year old. It came like this. B string is not an issue.
    image.jpg

6. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2002
    Virginia Beach, VA
    A new nut may be in order. How 'bout a pic of the bridge / body / lower 1/3 of the neck?

Riis

7. RyFi

RyFi

Jun 3, 2011
    Regina, SK
    It kind of looks to me like the strings are evenly spaced edge-to-edge, instead of center-to-center like they usually are. Does anyone else agree? If that's the case, I'd get a new nut with corrected spacing that pulls in the string spacing towards the B and gives you an extra millimeter or two at the other end to keep your G away from the edge.