1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Gadget Geeks, this is our thread!

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by syciprider, Apr 8, 2006.

1. syciprider

syciprider Banned

May 27, 2005
    Inland Empire
    List your geeky gear and what you do.

With me everyday are my

laptop

cell phone

4G iPod (for the car and office)

iPod Nano (for the gym)

Palm PDA (recently upgraded to a Lifedrive)

I've looked at the PDA/mp3/phone crossovers like the Treo but they simply don't do it for me. No Graffiti, can't write while talking, limited space etc. etc.

My profession: I'm a cook in the Navy.:smug:

2. canopener

canopener

Sep 15, 2003
    Isle of Lucy
    [​IMG]
    This is similar to mine, minus the book.

3. I have a SPARC workstation running freebsd 6, my laptop runs slackware linux and my other desktop also runs slackware.

I have a USB battery charger to keep my AAA batteries charged, and a USB coffee cup heater to keep my coffee warm :)

Also, I don't believe anyone owning an iPod can be considered a geek. A TRUE geek's music player wouldn't play anything with DRM and would be able to play both OGGs and FLACs. True geeks carry an iRiver for this reason :)

[EDIT] Forgot to mention, I have a lava lamp :)

4. Geoff St. Germaine

Geoff St. Germaine Commercial User

I have a Linux desktop under my desk that is constantly cranking out a plasma simulation code.

5. Isn't that a bit of a contradiction? :)

6. Pandora.com has pretty much eliminated my need for an iPod and iTunes at the office.

7. WOW! I just went on this website! This is awesome! Thanks for mentioning it!

8. SoComSurfing

SoComSurfing Mercedes Benz Superdome. S 127. R 22. S 12-13.

Feb 15, 2002
    Mobile, Al
    Yeah, I think I'm going to be pretty much worthless for the rest of the afternoon.

9. kserg

kserg

Feb 20, 2004
    San Jose, CA
    D-SLR camera

10. LajoieT