1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Gallien Krueger and Equipment Experts PLEASE HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by wolffman, Oct 2, 2008.

1. wolffman

wolffman

Oct 2, 2008
    Philadelphia PA
    Beta Tester: Red Panda Labs
    Good Afternoon All,

I need some guidance, help, and insight regarding my gear.

A little background info- Ive been playing for about 9 years... I try to play as many styles of music as i can including rock, jam band, electronic, indie, experimental, punk, metal, jazz, and bluegrass. I am not currently in a band... but i am jamming with as many people as possible until i find something that clicks.

Other than if something sounds good- I am not the greatest when it comes to equipment knowledge.

I was a poor high school/college kid since i started playing... just graduated and started working... so i recently upgraded ALL of my equipment except for my 2 year old amplifier.

MY EQUIPMENT:

Amp: Gallien-Krueger 700 RB amp (480 watts)

Cab: Gallien-Krueger 115GLX-II 1x15 (300 power RMS watts)

Bass: Fender Jaguar Bass (active pickups)

Effects: Boss ME50B (multi effects pedal)

I was playing a few weeks back and put a synth effect on,which accidentally cranked my volume... when i turned it off my speaker was still distorted & fuzzy. Turned out I blew out the speaker... it was still under warranty so i was able to have the speaker replaced.

I just recently got it back after 7 weeks!

I do not want to have this happen again so i am contemplating adding another cab to my lineup... or trading in the 1 x 15 and buying a cab with a higher power rating so im not lugging around two 60+ pound cabs.

My budget is roughly $300. If i can get $150 or $200 back for my 1 X 15 ill have about $500 to spend. (i have a GC credit card and will probablly have to buy there for that reason)

What do you think?