1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Galveston American Flag P Bass - review with pics

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Justice, Apr 3, 2009.

1. Justice

Justice

May 24, 2002
    Houston TX.
    I have been chasing one of these for several months now, and every dealer listing them did not have them in stock and had to order them from the distributor. The distributor did not have them and the model had been discontinued. I emailed every vendor I could find on eBay and the internet that had them listed. THey would reply with the "out of stock, discontinued" message and then remove their listings. Then last Friday night I did a search and found 2 listed on eBay. I was familiar with the seller and the listing indicated that they had only 2 available and that the model had been, of course, discontinued. The price was great $117 and shipping was free, so I hit the BIN and ordered one. It shipped from Florida on Monday and arrived here in Houston on Thursday.

Anyway, specs are as follows.

Galveston PB-Flag-4 bass - 4 string
    Neck - maple
    Fretbord - rosewood
    Body - Mahogany (actually it was listed as "solid wood" which it is. But the other Galveston P basses are listed as Mahogony)
    Electronics - 1 P bass pickup, volume and tone.
    Bridge - standard Fender style bent steel
    Tuners - Generic clover leaf
    hardware - chrome
    Country of origin - China

I own 2 other Galveston basses (12 string and an acoustic) which were both made in Korea. They are both solid basses. I figured if the Chinese Galveston was 3/4's as good I would be OK, or at lest as good as an SX (which I have 3 of)

Anyway, here are some pics....

IMG_1053.

IMG_1055.

IMG_1063.

IMG_1057.

IMG_1059.