1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Garbage picked Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by PaulieRam, Mar 6, 2016.

1. PaulieRam

PaulieRam

Mar 6, 2016
    I saw an old guitar case on top of pile of junk on our local bulk garbage day. I thought the case would be empty but it wasn't an an Ibanez Bass in it. It's an Ibanez Roadstar II that is blue with gold hardware and all I can tell from the mid-80s. I typically play guitar for fun but it was asked to play with some guys in a band on bass. Can anyone tell me specifically about this model? I'm no pro but it seems to play well. Also are there parts available for this as it has no backplate? I hate gold hardware but for some reason it actually works with this color. I'm debating buying a new bass and just wonder do I keep this one? sell it? I hate to be a hoarder but it's in my nature

Attached Files:

2. aaronious

aaronious Supporting Member

May 23, 2011
    Denver CO
    You found what looks to be an all original Ibanez mid 80's RB 960, in a dumpster? Serious?

Last edited: Mar 6, 2016
    Sirui, carsbybigd, BioWeapon and 14 others like this.
  3. aaronious

May 23, 2011
    Denver CO
    What do the strap buttons look like? Are they triangular?

4. spanndrew

spanndrew

Oct 14, 2013
    Atlanta, Ga
    That's insane.

5. aaronious

May 23, 2011
    Denver CO
    It's an '84 rb950ms

6. Oren Hudson

Oren Hudson

Dec 25, 2007
    Gastonia, NC
    Excellent! Made in June 1984. I think that may be Cosmic Blue. Google Ibanez and you'll probably find more. You may just have to make you a cover for the back. Again, you done good.

karl_em_all and lancimouspitt like this.
  7. GKon

GKon Supporting Member, Boom-Chicka-Boom

Feb 17, 2013
    Albuquerque, NM
    That's one hell of a score!

8. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Supporting Member