Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Gary Willis technique and me

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Bardolph, Jul 15, 2004.

1. Bardolph

Bardolph

Jul 28, 2002
    Grand Rapids, MI
    I've been using just my index and middle fingers since I started playing and recently I'm trying to adopt the three finger technique. I've gone to Gary Willis's site and gotten the exercises down, but I'm not sure where to go from there. Does anybody have suggestions for how I can find ways to apply it to my actual playing?

2. Bardolph

Bardolph

Jul 28, 2002
    Grand Rapids, MI
    By the way, I play mostly jazz and do a little solo stuff.

3. hi Eskimo, I have tried to intergrate a three finger style into my playing and it is kind of hard - I've seen Alain Caron use it while he's soloing and it's very impressive - the one thing I would say is that it is obviously best if it sounds unforced and natural, but when you're getting to grips with it that can be difficult. I have no really great answer other than what I have used it for is obviously funk and string crossing, the whole index, middle, ring, middle, index approach though is very difficult get flowing - from my attepts at doing it - but I do it 123, 123, 123 - etc, so playing in 4/4 you just shifted the one to each successive finger so you can play in quarter notes.

Again, I don't find this the easiest technique to intergrate as you can get all the effects you need from just two fingers, I suggest checking out Willis' video to see how he uses it during different feels in each section of a song - he mainly uses it for string crossing, and stationary vamps in one position - personally I think you should try your own version of it and try and make it fit whatever music you play - at least with jazz you get to play with the different counter rhythms.

Hope that helps

M

4. Craig Garfinkel