Garz Guitars

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Zentner, Aug 2, 2003.

1. Anyone Ever tried any Garz stuff?

I'm especially interested in the Dood 9-string bass, and was wondering if anyone has seen/heard/owns one, or any other Garz basses.

Any Suggestions for custom companies?

I play mostly Jazz/Funk, as well as alot of Emo/Screamo/Hardcore. A good mix of different styles, so i'm looking for something versetile, and i figured that an 8 string would just add to the sexuality of the bass. Yes, i mean sexuality.

Sorry if i sound noobish, but i'm new to the custom thing.

Thanks alot!

2. Is there a website for garz guitars?

Haven't seen or heard of one. Some of them look nice, but the 9 string? Kind of confusing why the B string isn't doubled...and I don't really dig the body shape.
  4. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    I checked out a 4-string a while back. They seem to be solidly made.

Their resale value is very low, if that's a concern.
  5. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    The neck shape will make it very neck-heavy.
  6. As for weight, i don't particularly find it an issue. In fact, i almost prefer something a bit heavier, as i'm more used to it. (plus, i'm a young chap, who needs the excercise)

I figured that a 9 string with this kind of configuration would be good for my style of playing. I would use the guitar strings a great deal, and i don't think i'd use a 5th guitar string if i had one. How does a Low B guitar string sound with a bass string? I thought it would turn out to be kind of a wierd sound. Anyways, as well, i usually use my low B infrequently, as oppose to my other strings. I just use it for accents and such.