GAS!!! GAS!!! GAS!!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BrettAM, Sep 29, 2002.

1. CaracasBass

Jun 16, 2001
    Madrid, Spain
    Just a opinion:

I don´t know why people spend such amount of money like $3000 or more in a single instrument, with a little more you can buy a good car´, and I know you can get a terrific sounding bass for less than $2000.

I´m just a University student, and don´t have that "KIND" of money, but even if I have it, I would spend it on a car, a trip to europe, whatever, but never on a bass that will make me a paranoid every time I bring that "jewel" to a gig.

I love playing bass, and I´m always trying to improve the way I sound, in other words, my gear, but that´s ridiculous(sp?)!!!!!!

(let the trankill begin)
  2. steve-o

steve-o Guest

Apr 17, 2002
    i don't live to far away from there. infact my aunt lives right around the corner. i guess i am going to make a trip up there to try a few out

3. temp5897

temp5897 Guest

I'm a college student too, but I think spending that kind of money on a bass is totally justified if that's what you want to do. I've spent over 4000 dollars on basses in the last month and I don't regret it one bit (and yes I work for my money). Im not paranoid about using my 2000+ dollar basses at all either. Would you be worried about driving your car that you just paid that much for?

All I am saying is that there are people who think spending that much is justified (including me) and whether people agree or disagree, that is alright with me as long as other people don't try to impose their views on others as being "correct"...
  4. Sure there are terrific sounding basses for under $2000.

Which $3000+ basses have you played and why don't you think that they are worth the money? I am truly curious, because most people who make these comments often do not have a reason, and I would like to know some.

5. Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU