1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Gas'sing Hard for a SVT PRO 7

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Livewire, Jul 30, 2012.

1. Livewire

Livewire Yahtzeeee

Nov 13, 2007
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hey guys, so I'm a hobbyist musician, I play with a few different bands here and there and some gigs. I run a GK 700RBII though an Avatar 210 8 ohm cabinet along with a few effects. As of late, I'm gassing for a tube head. THe GK just doesn't give me that fullness and grit a tube head can achieve.

I work full time and currently job hunting. I'm contimplating selling my GK700RBII and a few effects and maybe even my Sterling by Musicman SB14 that I never play in order to buy a affordable head.

I was thinking of an Ampeg SVT Pro 7 or a Little Mark Tube. While I know these are hybrid heads with tubes in the pre, they seem to be the most affordable and deliver excellent tone. Anyone have suggestions? Thanks!

2. BogeyBass

BogeyBass

Sep 14, 2010
    Uhhh no just no

those are not tube amps

3. :rolleyes:

4. I have the SVT-7PRO and PF-500. Both fine heads. Another option for tubey tone is the Ashdown ABM500. I'm a previous owner and do regret selling that head. It can get wooly in a good way.

5. Lazarus.Bird

Lazarus.Bird Mr. Personality

Aug 16, 2010
    Pittsburgh
    Lots of threads on the 7 Pro, but I absolutely love mine. Bought it as a lightweight backup for my VR. After owning it for awhile, sold my VR. :)

But if you get a 7 Pro, just be careful running it through that 210. It is a beast!

6. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    The grass is always greener, and so forth. I'd suggest another pedal in front of your already great GK amp. Plenty of options to add in a tubey flavor to what you already own, without having to sell the farm to get there.