Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Gear for a beginner

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by theuzedrk, Mar 16, 2006.

1. Lately I've been toying with the idea of getting into photography as a hobby. Ideally I would like to do pictures for bands(IE: live and promo photos).
    I'm new to this, other than the usual point and shoot with a cheapo 35mm or digital.
    This is what I'm thinking of for a beginning setup.
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-EOS-Rebel...yZ107918QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
    I'd buy just a body and a different lens, but I'm on a budget and this seems to be the best deal I can find. I can always upgrade the lens once I get better.
    Any thoughts or suggestions?
    I've done two searches on here and already I have picked up some good advice.:help:

2. Tsal

Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU
    I believe the topic should be "camera gear for a beginner", but anyways..

If you are set on a film camera, the Rebel is a good beginner camera as far as I know. All lenses and accessories good for the Rebel should work with different Digital Rebels, too, and as Canon has been a large brand for a while, there is plenty of 2nd hand stuff around.

The question is, IMO, do you have an access for a darkroom and a scanner, and can get materials for cheap? One roll of 30 is a couple of bucks and developement perhaps 5-10 at a store. Most guys do it themselves to save some cash and for hobbys sake, but you have to spend an hour developing it, and usually after that transfer the images to a computer too. This is why going straight for digi is often a sensible option - it removes a lot of transfer work and when you want prints, just hit the "send" button.