1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Gear for gigging.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Ripper91, Feb 17, 2008.

1. Ripper91

Ripper91

Jan 6, 2008
    I've been playing bass for almost 2 years and I've recently joined an indie/rock band, we've been practicing at the music department at my school so gear hasn't really been a problem and we will hopefully be playing a school show or two before we go on to more serious gigs.

However I have little in the way of equipment to play a gig outside of my school I own an Epiphone thunderbird, a Squire p-bass and a small practice amp. I don't really know much about amps, is it common to run the bass through a PA or do i need to mic up an amp, if so what sort of amp should I be looking to buy?

Also as you can imagine I’m looking to also get a better bass at some point for around £400-£500 any recommendations would be appreciated.

Finally what else will i need to invest in in order to start gigging seriously?

Cheers :)

2. Incognitus

Incognitus Amen!

Mar 25, 2006
    Eagle River, Alaska
    It all depends on where you're going to be playing, what you're playing, and how many people on average. Just look around for a good amp and a good 210 or so.

To answer your question:
    1.) Amp
    2.) Cab
    3.) Cables and misc. items needed for connection.

Don't really worry about getting a better bass yet. Focus on being able to put out your sound and being heard without destroying equipment.

Look around in the Amps & Cabs forum for more and better information.

3. superfunk47

superfunk47

Sep 9, 2007
    well, taking into consideration the fact that you already have 2 basses, id say invest in a good amp. great deals can be had if you go used, you get about twice as much for your money than youd get buying new.