Gear questions \ recommendations

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rockin982, Sep 19, 2004.

1. rockin982

Jan 27, 2004
    NJ, USA
    Ok, I'm relatively new to bass, so I have a couple of questions.

Just a little about me, I'm actually a lifelong drummer expanding into some other instruments, (bass and guitar, and then piano/keys as I am able to add it in). I'm looking to start a new band and hopefully a successful indie career (I've done alot of research on "making it" in the industry and after what I've learned I'm almost sure I never want to sign to a major, but I'd like to have a very successful and financially rewarding music career). So I figure my ability to write and collaborate (as well as perform with other musicians) would be greatly enhanced if I can play the other instruments. I listen to alot of different kinds of music (mostly classical, jazz & fusion, R&B and hip-hop, jungle\drum-n-bass, and rock/alternative rock, but alot of other stuff along the side).

Now my first question is why one would choose a 6 string bass over a 5. Listening to alot of contemporary gospel and R&B, I definitely understand the need for a B-string, but would I need a C-string too?

Secondly, I need a recommendation on a bass / practice amp setup. Looking to spend $1000 between the two of them.
    I'm looking for 3 basic sounds from this bass:

-Extremely deep, low-end growl (R&B\hip-hop,contemporary
    -Funky slap (funky fusion, contemporary gospel)
    -Melodic solo (a la Victor Wooten, Michael Manring, etc.)

The other main thing I'm looking for is nice string spacing that's wide at the bridge for slapping, but a little more snug at the neck for ease of fretting. That and a comfortable neck. Either 5 or 6 strings depending on the answer to my first question (definitely need a B-string, though).