Geddy Lee's Tecxhnique on Power Windows

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by darth by tor, Nov 9, 2005.

1. darth by tor

darth by tor

Nov 9, 2005
    Hi Everyone!
    New here and all that, Nice Place you have here.
    So Im a bassist of nearly twenty years but Im lacking in my technique terminology. So does anyone out there know what technique Geddy Lee employs on Rush's "Power Windows" album in particular on the track "Marathon"
  2. WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az
    As far as I know, it's just his fingers, using a Wal bass DI'd into the board in the studio. No magic, just Geddy. He's not slapping, if that's what you mean.
  3. darth by tor

darth by tor

Nov 9, 2005
    I know he's not slapping as I can play the part but Im just wondering it's a particular style as I havent heard it used before, is it double stopping?
  4. As far as I can remember, there are no double stops in "Marathon". Geddy does use them in "Force Ten" and "Turn The Page" from Hold Your Fire however. In "Vapor Trails", there are some instances of chordal playing.

On "Marathon" he is doing a lot of raking, and i think I hear a fair bit of muted notes as well--giving a percussive effect. The parts of the song I'm talking about are pretty much the intro and verses. The chorus is mainly keyboards if I recall correctly. The song is played very very fast on light gauge strings. If you ever hear the live version of this song, it is considerably slower. I prefer the studio version.

Hope this helps. :bassist:
  5. darth by tor

darth by tor

Nov 9, 2005
    Thats Great Canadabass!
    Thank You, would you mind defining what exactly a double stop is and where exactly Geddy Uses one in the songs you mention.
  6. Hi Darth Tor,