Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

General bass advice for a complete newbie?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Amphetachronism, Feb 7, 2005.

1. Hey,
    I'm new around here. (Yes, I have read the newbie links thread and the FAQ) I'm Matt, from Nottingham, England. For a long time, I've always loved the sound of the bass guitar, but I've never really had an opportunity to learn to play it, or any other instrument, until now.

I hate to ask such a common and probably annoying question, but I'm at somewhat of a loss. I'm not really sure where to start.

I've come here looking for advice on what basses are good for a (complete and clueless, but dedicated) beginner, what amps would be suitable for just general practice, what other accessories etc you'd advise I picked up, and any other morsels of information you would give to someone in my position.

I've done some research, and looked at a few instruments, the Yamaha RBX370 and the Fender Standard Precision in particular. Are these good basses?

Tobias basses look very nice, too. Though I understand Tobias' speciality is bass guitars, are they aimed at more advanced players?
    I listen to and hope to learn to play a variety of music, mostly rock in its various forms though. For the record, my inspiration for wanting to take up the bass is David Bowie (The man who sold the world/Ziggy era), Radiohead, A Perfect Circle and Tool. So I would be wanting to play alternative/progressive/hard rock, ideally.

All in all, I have about £600-800 (Upwards of $1000 USD) to play with, courtesy of a dead relative, but I have to get an amp and any other accessories out of that too.