Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

General introduction and technique question

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by j_alan, Jan 4, 2003.

1. j_alan

j_alan

Jan 4, 2003
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Hi,

I am new to bass and this forum and wanted to introduce myself. I have previously played guitar, drums and some keyboard; now I am learning the bass. Bass is easier for me to handle physically now due to an injury I suffered to my right arm. The funny thing is I think I enjoy bass a lot more than I ever enjoyed guitar, and I have only been playing bass for a few weeks :). As far as style, I am currently learning from rock, punk and reggae cds and someday I want to learn jazz (if mid-30s isn't too old to learn jazz). Too bad I didn't discover bass when I was a little younger.

Anyway, enough about me, on to my technique question. What is the proper right hand technique for plucking the strings? Having previously played some classical guitar, I am used to the "free" stroke alternating the index and middle fingers. My fingers stay bent somewhere around 90 degrees when I play. Am I doing anything wrong? Is there a "correct" right hand position for the hand and fingers? Also, sometimes I catch myself anchoring my thumb on the top of my neck pickup as I am playing. This gives me more speed, but I am wondering... is it a bad habit that I need to correct? Or is anchoring okay?

Any help is greatly appreciated as I do not have access to an instructor right now.

2. Play however you need to play to get a sound that you like. If it works and doesn't hurt, while you still sound good, then by all means, keep doing it.

By the way, anchoring is fine. Just don't drop anchor on my foot. ;)

3. jazzbo

jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA