1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

German and French bow

Discussion in 'Ask Patrick Neher [Archive]' started by ekspain, Apr 22, 2010.

1. ekspain

ekspain

Feb 22, 2008
    Europe
    Hi Patrick

I've been playing french for the las 14 years. Thats how I started.
    I've gotten better, but in a VERY gradual way. I feel like I still lag behind in certain ways with the French bow and its been a bit depressing.

Recently, about 2 months ago, I started playing German, and all of a sudden I can kick but. I find certain articulations much easier, that I always struggled with, with French. The excerpts and playing in orchestra in general has become more enjoyable- and playing just seems more natural!

I studied with Francois for years, and feel a little like I'm giving up on the whole nouvelle technique, though I still feel the need to "get it".
    not sure what to do, very confused. Any ideas, thoughts, etc. At the moment I'm doing both. just bought a new french bow, something awesome, with the hopes that it will rejuvinate my desire, but I also got a new German bow, that I find I'm constantly looking forward to play- also a really kick but bow.

I guess I'm in this crisis, wondering weather to give up on an ideal I've held for so long, or let go of it and get into something that gives me more...fun!

I don't expect you to give me the answer to this question, but perhaps you may have an anecdote or thought to share on the subject.

Thanks Patrick
    EK

2. PNeher

PNeher

Mar 31, 2005
    Bellingham, WA