1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

German bow; unwanted bounce

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Richard Simon, May 6, 2010.

1. Richard Simon

Richard Simon Supporting Member

Dec 6, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA
    As a jazz bassist, I occasionally take arco solos with my very average German bow. Any issues tend to be with intonation, not with bowing.

This week I am a hired 'ringer' in a youth orchestra, and suddenly the bow is bouncing. Of course it's embarrassing - I'm guessing that the kids are thinking oh, my grandpa has Parkinson's disease, too - but it's also strange in that it doesn't happen during a jazz arco solo or while practicing one of the first couple of Bach suites.

Typically the bow starts to dribble from the midpoint to the tip.
    In the two days left before the concert, I plan to try a few 'mechanical' fixes - more rosin, tighter bow hair tension, raising the endpin - though I fear it's more likely that the bounce is merely exposing my lousy bow technique.

Can anyone recommend a way to eliminate the unwanted bounce?

2. futurebass77

futurebass77

Aug 2, 2007
    Well, first of all, tightening the bow will actually help the bow bounce, so don't do that. Make sure you are using your arm weight to keep the bow on the string throughout the entire stroke. If you still get the bounce, you might want to tilt the bow slightly towards you, but that is a dangerous way to create bad habits if you persistently do it when unnecessary(my problem). If all else fails, its probably the bow.

Just my .02 cents.

3. Richard Simon

Dec 6, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA
    Thanks.

Just now during warm-ups, the bow stayed obediently on the strings.

I was more mindful of using the weight of the arm, as you suggested.