1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

German Bows - deeper frogs

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by pnchad, Jan 23, 2012.

1. pnchad

pnchad

Nov 3, 2005
    I've been playing DB for 30+ yrs - jazz pizz

Due to RS problems I've had to rest my right hand

So, I've taken to serious arco study for the first time

Problem is I'd like to get a German style bow with the deepest frog possible - big hands

I seem to see much deeper bows in classical settings but everything I see online is more or less what I have

help

2. mlz77096

mlz77096

Oct 16, 2007
    Houston, TX
    Can you get to a bass shop or even some violin shops carry bass bows. Plan on trying them out because it's amazing the difference in feel and tone as well as price between the bows.

3. pnchad

pnchad

Nov 3, 2005
    I just bought a so so stick without playing - we'll see

wish there was a violin shop with a choice of bass bows lol

I have a drawer full of crap or damaged bows that came with jazz basses so I have been playing junk

4. bad bows suck pretty much worse than anything else in music.

I play very little arco but I bought an inexpensive Upton bow. I'm a big fan of Upton basses, I have two (one in each location I play out of). But this bow drove me crazy.

Then I bought one used off a bass instructor from Ithaca College, I forget his name. It is old, not too fancy or expensive. But it works. Both German bows, btw.

5. I've seen those wide german grip bows on the Internet in videos, but not on online stores...

Ones like the four are using here....?

90' Kontrabass Orchestra - YouTube

That frog shape must have some specifying name beyond just german...

6. LouisF

LouisF Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA