Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Get a head or save for a flexible pre/power setup?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Mr_Dave, Nov 1, 2005.

1. Compact powerful head Tfunk, Eden wt550, etc.

15 vote(s)
    60.0%
  2. Save for a Pre/Power setup so you can change tones...

10 vote(s)
    40.0%
  1. Mr_Dave

Mr_Dave

Mar 11, 2005
    Melbourne, Australia
    Employee - Basscentre Melbourne
    Hi,

ok, i know this ground has been covered before but im confused...

i'm a uni student studying music (jazz/improv). i do a variety of gigs, funk instrumental, orginal funk/blues rock, jazz functions, bigband, corporate functions, fill in work, etc. Nothing too huge but we do play loud in some of the bands.

i have been using a gk400rbIII with labsystems (aussie) 210 and 212 cabs. i know this is underpowered. (1000watts of cabs total with 280 watts of head) i struggle with headroom and maintaining a good articulate sound. i play a lot of fingerstyle funk, rocco and jaco inspired

i used to have a quad and i think i want to go back to that, and get a single 12 for rehearsals. i am 99% sure i want to get an epifani ul410 and ul112, because i like the low weight and slightly coloured tone.

should i just get a thunderfunk, eden wt550 or something like that which is fairly flexible and compact or should i keep saving get a tone monster like an a aguilar db750 even though it doesn't have as much tone shaping... OR should i get a poweramp and be able to try and swap different preamps such as demeter, aguilar, eden navigator perhaps kern, etc...
    :confused:

2. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Considering your gigs, it looks to me like you're looking at rigs way too big for your needs, especially since you mentionned portability would be a concern.