1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Getting a Deeper, Richer tone.

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by SSHSBassman, Mar 16, 2009.

1. SSHSBassman

SSHSBassman

Feb 28, 2009
    Oregon, USA
    I always find myself listening to the bass professionals like Edgar Meyers, and the various others who play in the numerous classical pieces on my iPod and noticing how deep and full their sound is. I really crave to achieve that sound, but whenever I play, I just don't hear it. Does it just come with age and lots of practice? I've been playing for around 7 years now. I play with the German bow, which is supposed to be better for sound as oppose to the French bow which makes string crossings easier and allows for greater precission. Any suggestions for a better sound guys?

2. Jon Stefaniak

Jon Stefaniak Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2000
    Tokyo, Japan
    as for the bows- french vs german - I was troubling for me to read that one is "supposed to be better for sound." I'm curious where you heard that. I would say that the sound of a bow should be judged on a case by case basis - bow weight, balance, quality of material etc. - the quality of the stick is what matters.

as for the edgar meyer's of the world, bear in mind he's playing on a very fine old italian instrument and the environment he recorded in was built to have a very nice, resonant and supporting acoustic. so when he makes a free ringing and resonant sound, it comes out sounding beautiful.

those things said...
    the other half of your sound is what your doing with the bow. I would try to find what it takes to make the sound you want to make on any instrument. if you have a clear idea the sound you want - more free, open, dark, rich etc - you can be more flexible to make those sounds. practice, practice- and always experiment.