Getting a GK 1001RB-II to sound more like an 800RB

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by dave120, Dec 24, 2005.

1. dave120

Jun 27, 2005
    Central Florida
    Hi guys,

A few months back I was shopping for amps because I outgrew my Kustom KBA65 combo pretty quickly when I started playing with a band with 2 guitar players. I assume most of you know 65 watts doesn't work too well with 2 overdriven guitars with 100 watts each and a loud drummer!

I love the sound of most artists using GK amps so I decided my amp was gonna be a GK. The 800 is the classic sound guys like Duff McKagan used in the GN'R days that has an usual sound to it unlike most other bass amps. But it's 300 watts @ 4 ohms which didn't seem like it might be enough for me down the line and I didn't want to go amp shopping again. I ended up going for the 1001RB-II and I love the sound I get from it with my band and have gotten what is "my sound" tweaked from it.

But with longer gigs happening lately we've decided to do some cover songs to fill up some time as well as entertain the crowd and I'm trying to get more of the 80's rock sounds of the 800RB and I can't seem to quite dial it in. The GK manual says the contour knob on the 1001 will make it have the same contour as on an 800RB, but I don't thinnk that's all there is to getting that 800 sound. Do any of you know any tricks to making the 1001 sounds more like an 800? Or is it just a sound all its own (which is really good) that can't be changed all that much?

Any tips would be appreciated
  2. seanm

seanm I'd kill for a Nobel Peace Prize! Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    This is just a thought, but I bet some of the 800RB sound *is* the fact it is only 300W so you are going to have it cranked.
  3. NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio
    Bump...I'm curious as well...

4. NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio's a +11db@20hz
  5. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND