Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Getting a sticky for FAQ's

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Basschair, Jan 12, 2006.

1. Basschair

Basschair .............. Staff Member Supporting Member

Feb 5, 2004
    Stockton, Ca
    Hey folks,

I've never done it before, and it may be an obvious question, but I'm going to ask it anyway:

Would you guys be willing to search out and suggest some TB Luthier links to an FAQ sticky? I'd like to suggest this sticky to a moderator, but feel that I should have the research done first. Now, I'd be willing to search out and suggest all kinds of links, but that would only be those valuable from my perspective/experience, which is limited. Those of you with way more experience would have a better idea of the value of earlier threads, and your suggestions would carry more weight.

So, if you would, could you take a few minutes and run a search or two using the most commonly discussed keywords you can think of, and copy/paste a few good links to your replies here? That way we'd have something to go on. Don't forget to include topical matter (ie: "this is a good link on suggestions for tools").

Thanks!

paul

Oh yeah, here's a contribution, which is a link to a thread with links to tool threads:

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=182206&highlight=tools

Or, how about this one:

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=175652&highlight=shop

Other ideas could be suggested reading materials, common dealers for supplies (though I don't know how that one would go over), safety, finishing, shop pics, etc.

2. Basschair

Feb 5, 2004
    Stockton, Ca
    These seem to be favored around here:

Building Electric Guitars: How to Make Solid-Body, Hollow-Body and Semi-Acoustic Electric Guitars and Bass Guitars
    by Martin Koch

Make Your Own Electric Guitar
    by Melvyn Hiscock