1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Getting "comfortable" with 3 finger technique.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by NickCormier, Oct 22, 2009.

1. NickCormier

NickCormier

Dec 3, 2006
    Ive been playing bass since May, basically starting from scratch with no teacher (moving around from city to city and school ending and getting new jobs, no time, been hectic few months) but I am a 4year guitarist so I have all the theory down and everything I need, its just technique that is totally screwing me up. (Its annoying knowing how to do something in your head, but your fingers wont let you do it!)

Anyways, I spent that time trying to just comprehend the basics of fingerpicking style, before May I couldnt fingerpick at all, now I feel slightly comfortable with 2 finger style, and can play thru most Jamiroquai songs and other easy ones, but I am trying to adapt 3 finger and slap, and its really difficult

When I use a 3 finger technique, mainly R-M-I-R, it just gets so inconsistent and doesnt "flow" like 2 finger does for me. Granted, I know since I learned naturally with 2 fingers, it will feel more natural and 3 finger takes time, but Im just curious if anyone has some good exercises that focus specifically on 3 finger technique (not scales up and down, I do that often), Just curious what you guys did/do to build up consistency for 3 finger technique.

2. Fergie Fulton

Fergie Fulton

Nov 22, 2008
    Braintree
    Retrovibe Artist rota
    There are many ways to pluck with the fingers, its all about where the 1 is for many. As you can appreciate 3 into 4 does not go, 3 in to 8 does not go, but 3 in 12 does.
    In following 3 finger style the 1 is on the move because of this.

I will show the 1 using inverted comas in a following finger style use.

'R' M I R 'M' I R M 'I' R M I