Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

getting gay bashed

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Joe Nerve, Jan 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    just remembered this stuff responding to another thread.

it's gotta be really tough being gay.

because i'm a musician (i guess) and have at times dressed much differently than the others around me, i've been subjected to gay bashing on more than one occasion.

once, i was in greenwich village with a friend and was approached by someone asking if i was gay. i said, "no". he continued, "oh come on, you don't like a little .... once in a while (or something like that). i started to walk away, and then noticed he was with a bunch of other guys and they started yelling "you f...ing fa..ott", and other such crap. they were totally looking to hurt someone.

another time randy (my guitarist) and i were walking in the neighborhood, i think our hair was colored or something, and some guy sitting outside a laundromat started yelling at us to go do things i can't write here. randy wanted to confront him. it was too stupid to even try and reason with guy - he kept yelling really lame homophobic stuff. i didn't feel like fighting or arguing.

another time i had my pink pants on and a car full of girls drove by. one of them screamed out "NICE PANTS!!!!!.... YOU F...ING FA..OTT!!!

there were other incidents too.

anyone else ever have to deal with this????

2. blow them away with a low F#

3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany