1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Getting great tone while practicing casually at home

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by J0hn, Jul 11, 2019.

1. J0hn

J0hn

Nov 12, 2016
    Maryland
    So when I'm practicing at home, through one of the 2 practice amps I have in my bedroom, my tone sounds a bit muddy and more importantly my ghost notes and tapping (or anything percussive for that matter ) is not coming through well. I have been more and more satisfied with my playing when it's through decent rigs, and although I have been playing bass for about 15 years now, I have never owned one myself. I have one of those Apoggee deals that plugs into my iPad so I can play through Garageband and I can get great tone from that but it's limited to the tiny ipad speaker.

That said, I think it's time to invest in something decent. A combo would be fine. Or would I be better off going digital? I have the iPad pro and a decent windows laptop. Again this is just for home practice. I crank it from time to time but this doesn't need to be loud enough to gig or even jam with. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    Song Surgeon slow downer. https://tinyurl.com/y5dcuqjg
    Headphones might do it for you.

dralionux, getbent, Ampslut and 11 others like this.
  3. J0hn

J0hn

Nov 12, 2016
    Maryland
    Looking for something to plug the headphones into. Definitely enjoy playing through them but don't want to do that all the time.

4. lug

lug

Feb 11, 2005
    League City, Tx
    Phil Jones Double 4

porterbass and AstroSonic like this.
  5. Drop1

Drop1

Mar 28, 2019
    Small practice amps can sound amazing if EQ'd properly.