1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Getting inconsistent tone with middle finger, need help

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Thom Fioriglio, Jan 31, 2020.

1. I am having trouble getting a consistent tone and rhythm from plucking with their middle finger? Any advice or suggestions?

Here is the background info. I started playing as a teen back in the 80s and always used a pick. Life gets on, I stop playing for 15 years and recently have picked up the bass again and I am loving it. I want to develop playing with my fingers instead of a pick. I practice everyday. The problem I have is with tone and rhythm consistency. I can play fine using just my pointer finger (like Jamerson) but when I use my middle finger, its just not working for me. For one, its a different tone. My middle finger pluck sounds brighter and harsher. I also can't get a consistent rhythm using both pointer and middle fingers. I keep going back to a pick (I started using the Wedgie 3.1mm hard rubber pick which is close to a finger style sound).

Is this a common problem? Do others have inconsistent tone with your pointer and middle finger? Will it just come with time and practice?

Thanks

Thom

2. AGCurry

AGCurry Supporting Member

Jun 29, 2005
    St. Louis
    Yes, it will come with time and practice, if your practice is good.
    My advice is to practice walking lines with alternating fingers, so you're playing just quarter notes. Play slowly as you need to but fast as you can while producing a smooth consistent sound.

mambo4 and Thom Fioriglio like this.
  3. This is something we all wrestle with in the beginning. Our goal as performers is to take something disparate, and through practice, make it sound consistent.

Thom Fioriglio likes this.
  4. tshapiro

tshapiro Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Aug 25, 2015
    Jax Florida