1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Getting into a Music College...Difficulty?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Tadp0le, Aug 20, 2007.

1. Tadp0le

Tadp0le

Aug 20, 2007
    So basically...I'm going to be a sophomore in High School, and I love bass. I started playing about 6 months ago, and I feel that I am getting fairly skilled at this point...being able to play many Red Hot Chili Peppers songs, and learning Victor Wooten's double thumping technique etcetera. Basically...I am considering my options of what I would like to go to college for, and bass is one of these things. How much would I need to practice over the course of three years to get into a good music college (Juilliard, although it is EXTREMELY difficult, I know, etc)? What should I practice? Is improvisation a good way to learn? What songs are good to learn? Anything else that would make me able to increase my skill level as fast as possible would be very appreciated.

However, the main question is how much time I put into it. If it truly is not possible, I understand, there are other things I love too and I can live with it as a hobby.

2. soong

soong

May 10, 2007
    Sydney
    umm, to my knowledge, most college and music institutes require AT LEAST IMEB (international grading) grade 3 to 5, taking a couple years the quickest.

although if you think you're a good player, put your effort in and you can always apply the year after. Know improv, as well as scales, arpeggios, intervals, cadences, etc.

3. Essentially you will not get in if your self taught. You NEED to lessons, you NEED them to be jazz orientated and you NEED to start NOW. Not in 6 months, not when you feel like it. NOW! Get someone who knows about the college system and can teach you double as well.

4. PocketGroove82

PocketGroove82